Gosling and Read to run Escort at Canterbury

Tony Gosling and Blair Read won the class 3 open 2WD category at International Rally of Whangarei a fortnight ago in the Ford Escort and will run that car at next month’s Lone Star Rally Canterbury.

The pair began the season in the Group A category this year with a beautiful liveried Subaru Legacy. But a gear box issue at the season-opening Rally Otago ruled them out of using that car in Whangarei.

Gosling enjoyed his first outing in the red Ford Escort in Whangarei having driven a different Escort to the title last year.

Despite winning the class in Whangarei he has already identified ways to improve their performance with his 2018 car.

“I think we need to run 15 inch wheels, which you have to on these high horse power ones,” Gosling explained.

“I did underestimate the difference between the white one and this one – it has so much power you tend to waste a lot of it with wheel spin.

“That’s why I think if we go with the bigger wheel and soften up the suspension it will be better.”

The 2018 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, Hella New Zealand and Stadium Finance


About The Author

Upcoming Events

  1. Rnd1 | DriveSouth Rally of Otago

    April 13, 2019 @ 5:00 pm - April 14, 2019 @ 5:00 pm UTC+12
  2. Rnd2 | International Rally of Whangarei

    May 3, 2019 @ 7:00 am - May 5, 2019 @ 5:00 pm UTC+12
  3. Rnd 3 | Lone Star Canterbury Rally

    June 2, 2019
  4. Rnd4 | 2019 South Canterbury Rally

    June 22, 2019
  5. Rnd5 | Hyundai NZ Gold Rush Rally of Coromandel

    August 16, 2019 @ 7:00 am - August 17, 2019 @ 5:00 pm UTC+12
  6. Rnd6 | Hamilton Car Club Waitomo Rally

    October 19, 2019


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.