Gilmour’s Vantage Suzuki shows pace at Coromandel‏


Emma Gilmour and co-driver Anthony McLoughlin show some pace in the Vantage Windows and Doors Suzuki Swift at the Mahindra Gold Rush Rally Coromandel   Photo: Geoff Ridder

Two second fastest stage times at today’s Mahindra Gold Rush Rally Coromandel were encouraging recognitions of the speed Emma Gilmour’s Vantage Windows and Doors Suzuki Swift is able to achieve.

Although a failed master switch in stage four meant an overall result was not possible, Emma has many positives to take away from her first time rallying in the Whitianga-based event.

“We had some really good pace, although it was a shame that we couldn’t keep challenging for a top finish due to about 15 minutes we lost in stage four. We were lucky the team could give us instructions via phone on how to get it going again,” Emma says.

Emma’s first second place finish came on stage five where she and co-driver Anthony McLoughlin came within a whisker (1.1secs) of winning the 22.98km Tapu Coroglen test.

The second runner-up stage result was in the eighth test Ernslaw 11.10km, which gave Emma her first power stage points for the season.

“We’ve been working on trying to maximize the slow corner performance to overcome the lesser torque of the 1600cc engine. The stages were tight today and we really nailed a faster pace,” Emma says.

Her impressions after her debut in the nine-stage Coromandel event were enthusiastic.

“It was a really well run rally and the community really gets behind it, which was great. The roads were really nice – just magic.”

There is one round remaining in the NZRC, Rally Wairarapa on October 3.

Emma would like to thank her sponsors Vantage Windows & Doors, Suzuki NZ, Metalman NZ, Rothbury Insurance Brokers, PPG Paint, Castrol, Dunlop, Hella, Vortex Racewear, Interislander, NGK Spark Plugs, Custom Signs, Modena Race Gears, Webdesign and Koba Batteries for supporting the team.

Emma’s 2015 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship calendar:
Rally of Whangarei, 18-19 April
Rally of Otago, 9-10 May
Canterbury Rally, 31 May
Rally Gisborne, 27 June
Rally Coromandel, 22 August
Rally Wairarapa, 3 October


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill