All the silverware for van Klink


Photo: Euan Cameron

Marcus van Klink has overcome the threat of a misfire to take all the available trophies at the Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa, the fourth round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship driven by VINZ.

Driving the Chesters Plumbing Supplies Group B Mazda RX-7, van Klink and co-driver Dave Neill headed to the event looking for maximum points in the NZRC while also anticipating a big battle with Deane Buist for the Malcolm Stewart Classic Rally and made the perfect start to the morning, taking an 18.1 second lead after two stages.

With a further three stage wins before the lunchtime service, van Klink opened up his lead to 43.6 seconds, despite the car developing a misfire half way through stage five. Despite the team’s best efforts to remedy the electrical fault, it was not to be and a nervous van Klink headed off to tackle the final four stages while trying to defend his lead.

Despite Buist winning each of the remaining stages, van Klink kept the margins small and never looked to have the lead under threat, coming home a relieved winner with a margin of 27.7 seconds.

Maximum points for the NZRC round sees van Klink need only a finish at the next round to wrap up the Historic Championship with a round to spare, while co-driver Neill has already claimed the co-drivers championship. The pair also became the first repeat winners of the Malcolm Stewart Classic Rally.

“We certainly had some anxious moments across the afternoon, it was getting really bad and the car was struggling to do 100km/h,” said van Klink. “But at the end of the day, we can’t ask for much more of a result, so all in all I’m rapt.”

The team now turn their attention to their new tarmac weapon of choice, the Citroen C2 S1600, for the cars debut in New Zealand at the Taranaki Tarmac Rally on July 12.


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

17 hours 56 minutes ago

Who were the performers to fly under the radar at Hawke's Bay? 📷 Geoff Ridder Thanks to sponsors Brian Green Property Group, HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand and Omega Rental Cars Ltd #NZRC #rallyhawkesbay2021

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 9 hours ago

#Secretweapon - Kingsley Jones had the Auckland Denture Clinic R5 Skoda NZ flying over the weekend, so we sent Budgie on a mission to find out what the story was.... #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 16 hours ago

Who gave who a love nudge out of frustration? What were the firsts in Wairoa on Saturday and what happened to poor old Don Brunt when he went for a quiet beer Saturday night? Thanks to sponsors Brian Green Property Group, HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand and

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 5 hours ago


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.