Big battle looms for van Klink at Wairarapa


Photo: Euan Cameron

Kaiapoi’s Marcus van Klink is expecting a big battle for the Malcolm Stewart Classic Rally title that runs as part of the Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa, which is also round four of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship driven by VINZ, this weekend.

Despite crashing out of the previous round, Rally Canterbury, van Klink still holds the lead in the Historic class of the NZRC by 25 points and at the wheel of the Chesters Group B Mazda RX-7, has been a dominant pace setter throughout each of the three rounds to date.

Although van Klink and co-driver Dave Neill have the upper hand in their championship battle, the Malcolm Stewart Classic Rally sees van Klink up against long time friend and rival Deane Buist. The pair have swapped stage times across the previous two rounds in Otago and Canterbury and van Klink anticipates more of the same on the roads north of Masterton.

The event has offered a mixed bag to van Klink, who won the Malcolm Stewart Classic in 2012 that set up victory in both the two-round Classic Rally Challenge that encompasses the Otago and Wairarapa events, and his first NZRC classic championship. However an axle failure in 2011 and getting stuck in a ditch last year have stopped his name appearing on the trophy again.

“It should be a really good battle with Deane, I would say we will both be hard up it right the way through the day,” says van Klink. “It’s an event I certainly enjoy and I would love to get my name on that Malcolm Stewart Classic trophy again.”

The Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa gets underway on Saturday June 28, leaving the infamous Tui Brewery in Mangatainoka from 7am. Crews will tackle nine stages totalling 163.18km of special stages before finishing back at the Solway Hotel in Masterton at 5.30pm.


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

20 hours 52 minutes ago

#Livestream - This weekend, it's time for the Stadium Finance South Canterbury Rally and the Livestream team is back, bigger and better. Joining BB and Dazza G will be Rocky and Lisa Hudson with their expert insights and there will be three opportunities to catch the team around the event.

New Zealand Rally Championship

4 days 21 hours ago

#ThursdayNightRecce - This week the boys review a few NZRC runners at Rally Canterbury, then BB catches up with the latest entry to the NZRC 4WD fleet. #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

5 days 3 hours ago

#Whocoulditbe - Tune into BB & Budgie's Thursday Night Recce tonight to find out who the latest entry to the NZRC 4WD fleet is. We've got the exclusive. Tune in at 8:30pm #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

6 days 10 hours ago

Fantastic insight into the Stokes MotorSport family operation. Looks like they’re on form and ready for Stadium Finance South Canterbury Rally next weekend!! #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.