BNT Mason Motorsport expected to cruise through NZRC Rally Wairarapa….Yeah Right

Mason_Canterbury2014_Copyright KATE RIDDER_KR27263

‘BNT’ and Richard and Sara Mason win Rally Canterbury. Photo Credit – Geoff & Kate Ridder.

Three wins from three starts mean that four times New Zealand Rally Champions Richard and Sara Mason can win the 2014 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship – driven by Vinz [NZRC] at this weekend’s Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa.

The Masterton Flyers now hold a massive 68 point lead at the halfway mark in the championship, a lead which is so large that there are only 4 other drivers left – of the 30 registered – who still have a mathematical chance of taking the title.

So as the NZRC returns to the North Island for the three remaining rounds where a maximum 90 points are on offer, the Masons need just 16 of those 90 to achieve their goal of winning a record 5th New Zealand Rally Championship.

A third pIace at Wairarapa and 5th fastest through the event’s Power Stage would be enough to shut out the opposition with two rounds to spare – yet another NZRC record for New Zealand’s leading rallying couple.

It would therefore be quite reasonable to expect the Masons to ease their pace and cruise through the 9 stage, 163 kilometre rally to ensure those placings are achieved.

However when they steer their bright yellow BNT Subaru away from the Rally Start at the iconic TUI Brewery early on Saturday morning, rest assured ‘YEAH RIGHT’ would be their reaction to that sort of question, as having fun, going fast and winning rallies is what most motivates the Masons.

“There’s no doubt we go to every rally wanting to win,” said Richard, “and even though our awesome start to the season means we are within touching distance of taking out our 5th [NZRC] title, there would be nothing better than winning the championship by winning our home rally – for the 8th time – in front of all our family, friends and supporters.”

“Likewise, Sara is only one round win away from equalling Bob Haldane’s record for [NZRC] Co-drivers of 24, and no-one has ever won the championship with a clean sweep, so that would be rather cool..”

Following the ever popular BNT Mason Motorsport Colouring Competition and the Rally Welcome – including the Start Order Draw for the Top Five – at the Copthorne Solway Park Resort and Hotel at 6pm on Friday evening, the 70 car field will start from the Tui Brewery HQ at Mangatainoka from 7am. They then head to the 9 classic high speed special stages around Pongaroa, Castle Hill, and Masterton, before the finish back at Solway Park from 5pm.

BNT Mason Motorsport are very proud to again have the support of BNT, Dunlop, B.W.O’Brien, ScottSpeed Performance Engines, Geartech, MCA Suspension, Hopper Construction, Race Brakes, Randall & Associates, Quality Foods and Tom’s Autos, without whose invaluable assistance they would not be able to be celebrating a decade at the top of NZ rallying.

To keep up to date with BNT Mason Motorsport’s progress – and


Full results available from the website –

2014 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship, driven by VINZ calendar 

Round 1: VINZ Rally of Whangarei 11 – 13 April

Round 2: DriveSouth Rally of Otago 10 – 11 May

Round 3: Lone Star Rally of Canterbury 31 May – 1 June

Round 4: Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa Saturday 28 June

Round 5: Gold Rush Rally of Coromandel Saturday 23 August

Round 6: GoPro Daybreaker Rally Saturday 27 September

_GR10084C_Web (1)

Photo Credit – Geoff & Kate Ridder.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill