Campbell looks to round out solid season at Wairarapa

Phil Campbell Rally Otago_Copyright Jason Byrne-1

A strong consistent season from Phil Campbell places him second in the championship heading to the finale. Photo: Jason Byrne

Tauranga’s Phil Campbell heads to the final round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship, this weekend’s Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa, looking to challenge for another top result.

The 2015 season has been a standout season for Campbell and co-driver Venita Fabbro, with a string of podium finishes that has seen the pair grab a stranglehold on second place in the NZRC standings and for the final round, the pair will be looking for a second win.

Although any thoughts of a championship win rely on leader Ben Hunt striking trouble, Campbell will continue to push until the end of the event to ensure he can finish the year off with a positive result and secure a strong position for the season.

With a few small adjustments to the car, Campbell is confident that The Roofing Store Mitsubishi Evo can set the pace on the roads around the Manawatu and Wairarapa regions despite several extra entries for the final round that has created one of the most star-studded entry lists in recent history.

“We’ve gone back to the brake rotors we ran earlier in the season and they give me a lot more confidence in the car. It seems every time I’m comfortable with the brakes in the car, we go well,” says Campbell. “It’s been a really good season and we’re in a fantastic position for the year, so now we just need to round it out with a great result to finish the season.”

Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa runs on October 3, starting from the small Manawatu township of Pohangina from 7.40am, taking on a total of eight special stages totalling 155.9 kilometres before the finish in Masterton from 3.55pm.


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

5 hours 53 minutes ago

Dropping tonight at 5! Catch the 4WD Rally Hawke's Bay Highlights here on Facebook or on our YouTube channel - NZRC.TV Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental Cars Ltd

New Zealand Rally Championship

20 hours 30 minutes ago

#ThursdayNightRecce - This week, BB & Budgie check out the weekend's action amongst the Category 1 competitors, with lots of battles amongst the finishers there were plenty of talking points #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

2 days 1 hour ago

RALLY MAP // Here it is - the 2021 Dayle ITM Goldrush Rally of Coromandel Map! We are super excited to be back this year in Whitianga on 3-4 September. Download the PDF here: See you soon! #RallyNZ #NZRC #dayleitm Farmer Autovillage

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 6 hours ago

Who were the performers to fly under the radar at Hawke's Bay? 📷 Geoff Ridder Thanks to sponsors Brian Green Property Group, HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand and Omega Rental Cars Ltd #NZRC #rallyhawkesbay2021


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.