Campbell looks to up the pace at Wairarapa

roofing Store evo 9 (900x519)

Photo: Jason Byrne

Tauranga’s Phil Campbell is looking to improve on his impressive speed when round four of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship driven by VINZ hits the Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa.

In their first season in a four-wheel drive car, Campbell and co-driver Venita Fabbro have recorded some impressive results including podium speed that was only interrupted by a clutch failure at the opening round, Rally Whangarei.

After illness and car problems slowed the pair at Otago, Rally Canterbury saw the pair amongst the front runners in the daylight stages to come home in fifth place.

Without the challenge of night stages and a good track record in the past, Campbell is confident that he can make another step in speed, but is still well aware that completing all of the nine stages is crucial in the steep learning curve with The Roofing Store Mitsubishi Evo 9.

The Masterton-based event is one that has treated Campbell well in the past, with the 27-year old taking his first ever NZRC class win at the 2012 edition of the event, while the slightly more technical nature of the event compared to the fast blasts used so far in the championship should suit the Group N specification The Roofing Store Evo 9.

“I’m really looking forward to the event, it’s one I always enjoy and seem to go alright at,” says Campbell. “So far I’m really happy with the speed we have had as we work our way into the four-wheel drive car and I think we can make another step forward this weekend.”

The Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa gets underway on Saturday June 28, leaving the infamous Tui Brewery in Mangatainoka from 7am. Crews will tackle nine stages totalling 163.18km of special stages before finishing back at the Solway Hotel in Masterton at 5.30pm.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill