Champions to be crowned in Raglan

The Gull Rally Challenge championship will be up for grabs in the Hyundai New Zealand Raglan Rally of the Coast on Saturday while a host of drivers are hoping to secure second and third place finishes overall.

World Rally Championship star Hayden Paddon secured the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship at the last event on the Coromandel but a number of 2018 championships are still up for grabs.

The battle between Grant Blackberry, Geof Argyle and Marcus van Klink in the Gull Rally Challenge looks a mouth-watering contest with just eight points separating the first two drivers and the third a further eight points adrift.

The battle for the podium spots overall in the championship is tight with Ben Hunt (Subaru) holding a sizeable but not unbeatable second place. Josh Marston (Holden), Nathan Quinn (Subaru) and Matt Summerfield (Mitsubishi) are separated by just two points while Emma Gilmour (Suzuki) and Raana Horan (Skoda) remain in contention as well.

John Silcock holds a 14-point advantage of Regan Ross in the historic 2WD class and the pair will fight it out over the eight special stages in and around the Raglan area.

Action begins Friday night with a ceremonial opening in Raglan before competitors head off for four stages in the Te Akau region on Saturday morning. The afternoon’s four stages include the infamous Whaanga Coast stage; famous for its stunning coastline on the ragged West Coast of New Zealand.

The 2018 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, Hella New Zealand, Hyundai New Zealand and Stadium Finance


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship updated their profile picture.

5 days 4 hours ago

New Zealand Rally Championship updated their cover photo.

5 days 4 hours ago

New Zealand Rally Championship

5 days 5 hours ago

#Entrants We are excited to announce the first four entries into the 2022 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship. Welcome to the following teams: - John-Paul VAN DER MEYS & Troy TWOMEY- Ford Fiesta ST - John SILCOCK & Donna ELDER - Mazda RX7 Group B - Chris

New Zealand Rally Championship

2 weeks 4 days ago

#offseasonrumoursconfirmed the FIA 2WD class takes an interesting twist with up and coming star Jackson Clendon confirming a new Rally4 car for the 2022 season


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2022, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.