Championship the goal for van Klink at Goldrush


Photo: Euan Cameron

Kaiapoi’s Marcus van Klink heads to the penultimate round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship driven by VINZ, the VINZ Goldrush Rally Coromandel, looking to wrap up a second NZRC historic championship.

2012 saw van Klink wrap up his first national title in the Chesters Plumbing Group B Mazda RX-7 but a horror run in 2013 saw him concede the title. But after a solid season to date, just making it to the finish line will mean that van Klink will take a second title.

With the necessity to finish, the Mazda has received plenty of work to ensure that reliability will not deny van Klink a second title.

Since becoming the first repeat winner of the Malcolm Stewart Classic Rally at the last NZRC round, Rally Wairarapa, van Klink has been keeping busy with an impressive run at the Taranaki Tarmac Rally in his new Citroen C2 S1600, then setting a string of top ten stage times at the Catlins Coast Rally.

The new event to the calendar offers up a new challenge to the competitors and van Klink, along with co-driver Dave Neill, is looking forward to getting onto some new roads.

“Basically the main aim for the weekend is to wrap up the championship, we won’t be chasing any four-wheel drives, just getting to the end,” says van Klink. “But it will be great to check out some new roads, it should be great fun.”

The VINZ Goldrush Rally Coromandel gets underway with a ceremonial start in Whitianga from 4.30pm on Friday. The following day sees the gravel action with teams leaving the Mercury Bay Multi-Sports Park at 7am to contest 135km of special stages punctuated by three services at the Sports Park. Crews will also contest the Whitianga Waterways Super Special Stage twice before the ceremonial finish at approximately 4pm.



About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 16 hours ago

Rally Hawke's Bay returns to the NZRC after 10 years. Stunning roads. Enjoy all the action from the 4WD class highlights. Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt Matt Summerfield Rally James Dunlop MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 22 hours ago

Dropping tonight at 5! Catch the 4WD Rally Hawke's Bay Highlights here on Facebook or on our YouTube channel - NZRC.TV Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental Cars Ltd

New Zealand Rally Championship

2 days 13 hours ago

#ThursdayNightRecce - This week, BB & Budgie check out the weekend's action amongst the Category 1 competitors, with lots of battles amongst the finishers there were plenty of talking points #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 17 hours ago

RALLY MAP // Here it is - the 2021 Dayle ITM Goldrush Rally of Coromandel Map! We are super excited to be back this year in Whitianga on 3-4 September. Download the PDF here: See you soon! #RallyNZ #NZRC #dayleitm Farmer Autovillage


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.