Conservative not an option for van Klink

MarcusVanKlink_CoromandelRally2015_Copyright GEOFF RIDDER_GR15462

Marcus Van Klink and Dave Neill lead the BNT Classic category heading to the season finale. Photo: Geoff Ridder

Kaiapoi’s Marcus van Klink heads to the weekend’s Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa with a solid lead in the Historic category of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship, but won’t let that stop him chasing glory.

Needing only to finish to claim the title, many would excuse van Klink for taking a conservative approach to ensure a third classic title, however there is plenty more to play for at the Masterton-based event.

With Wairarapa not on the championship calendar in 2016, van Klink will be looking to put his name once again on the Malcolm Stewart Classic Rally trophy, something he has done twice before in 2014 and 2012.

As well as that, van Klink and Dave Neill are also keen to power the Chesters Plumbing Supplies Mazda RX-7 to top overall two-wheel drive in the rally to round out the season.

Past form suggests that the pair will be amongst the favourites to tick the boxes, with the fast flowing roads suiting the powerful Mazda.

“Obviously number one goal is to seal the championship, but we aren’t going to just cruise around the back of the field, particularly with the opportunity to win another Malcolm Stewart Classic Rally,” says van Klink. “At the end of the day, the best form of defence is attack and that is what we’ll be planning to do.”

Trusthouse Racetech Rally Wairarapa runs on October 3, starting from the small Manawatu township of Pohangina from 7.40am, taking on a total of eight special stages totalling 155.9 kilometres before the finish in Masterton from 3.55pm.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill