Coromandel finale for 2021 NZRC

A five-round Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship for 2021 has been confirmed by championship organisers and MotorSport New Zealand today.

Rally Coromandel, based out of Whitianga, will serve as the championship’s finale on September 4, joining the previously announced Otago Rally, International Rally of Whangarei, Rally South Canterbury and Rally Hawke’s Bay on the 2021 schedule.

Organisers decided five rounds would be a more sensible way for the championship to return after the COVID-19 pandemic saw the cancellation of the 2020 championship.

“We understand the challenges everyone is still facing in the wake of COVID,” championship coordinator Blair Bartels said.

“We feel a five-round championship is well balanced and will provide a terrific championship as we look to get on with life after these unprecedented times.

“Each of the five rounds presents a unique challenge for competitors and adds its own flavour to our overall championship.

“It was great to see some new events run in the second half of 2020 and some new competitors announce themselves as contenders.

“It feels like an age since we last held a round of the national championship and we can’t wait for Otago in April.”

MotorSport New Zealand chief executive Elton Goonan said he was delighted with how the sport had survived the COVID pandemic.

“It was absolutely the right decision to not run the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship this year given the circumstances,” Goonan said.

“It means all rallies and competitors have a better shot at returning to normal in 2021 and we certainly hope that is the case.

“We have a great championship and I’m sure everyone will be chomping at the bit come Otago in April.”

The 2021 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship begins April 16-18 with the Otago Rally, based out of Dunedin.

The championship heads north to the International Rally of Whangarei on May 14-16.

Competitors tackle the second of two South Island events on June 19 with the running of Rally South Canterbury while Hawke’s Bay makes its long-awaited return to the national championship on July 24.

The heavily cambered gravel roads of Rally Coromandel will be the final round on September 4.

2021 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship
April 16-18 Otago Rally
May 14-16 International Rally of Whangarei
June 19 Rally South Canterbury
July 24 Rally Hawke’s Bay
September 4 Rally Coromandel


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

21 hours 47 minutes ago

#Livestream - This weekend, it's time for the Stadium Finance South Canterbury Rally and the Livestream team is back, bigger and better. Joining BB and Dazza G will be Rocky and Lisa Hudson with their expert insights and there will be three opportunities to catch the team around the event.

New Zealand Rally Championship

4 days 21 hours ago

#ThursdayNightRecce - This week the boys review a few NZRC runners at Rally Canterbury, then BB catches up with the latest entry to the NZRC 4WD fleet. #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

5 days 4 hours ago

#Whocoulditbe - Tune into BB & Budgie's Thursday Night Recce tonight to find out who the latest entry to the NZRC 4WD fleet is. We've got the exclusive. Tune in at 8:30pm #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

6 days 11 hours ago

Fantastic insight into the Stokes MotorSport family operation. Looks like they’re on form and ready for Stadium Finance South Canterbury Rally next weekend!! #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.