Hawkeswood looks to send off car in style


Andrew Hawkeswood has demonstrated the pace of his new generation Mazda 2 Rallycar during 2014. Photo: Euan Cameron

Andrew Hawkeswood is looking to send off his current Mazda 2 in style with a podium finish at the final round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship driven by VINZ, the GoPro Daybreaker Rally.

For the 2015 season, Hawkeswood will move to the new generation Mazda 2 that was recently launched in Japan, but in the mean-time has some unsettled business with the current car to resolve.

The season to be date has been hampered by punctures and brake problems for Hawkeswood, with potential podium results at each of the three rounds held to date deflating along with the tyres, but the Aucklander is confident that with the recent speed found in the car, he can mount a serious challenge at the front of the field.

After using three different co-drivers in the three events contested to date this year, Hawkeswood will team up with the experience of Jeff Cress for the second event running, the pair also having teamed up twice before in previous Daybreaker events.

“If we can have a trouble free run, I’d really like to get onto the podium and give this old girl a good send off,” says Hawkeswood, who is widely regarded as New Zealand’s most spectacular rally driver. “We’ve certainly had the speed, particularly at Coromandel, to be on the podium but the luck hasn’t gone our way. Hopefully this time we can turn that around.”

This year sees the Daybreaker event, which is based out of Palmerston North, return to the traditional early morning start with the first car hitting the road at 3.50am before venturing as far north as Taihape. After close to 200km of special stages, teams will return to the finish in The Square at Palmerston North at 4.30pm


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 16 hours ago

Rally Hawke's Bay returns to the NZRC after 10 years. Stunning roads. Enjoy all the action from the 4WD class highlights. Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt Matt Summerfield Rally James Dunlop MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 22 hours ago

Dropping tonight at 5! Catch the 4WD Rally Hawke's Bay Highlights here on Facebook or on our YouTube channel - NZRC.TV Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental Cars Ltd

New Zealand Rally Championship

2 days 13 hours ago

#ThursdayNightRecce - This week, BB & Budgie check out the weekend's action amongst the Category 1 competitors, with lots of battles amongst the finishers there were plenty of talking points #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 17 hours ago

RALLY MAP // Here it is - the 2021 Dayle ITM Goldrush Rally of Coromandel Map! We are super excited to be back this year in Whitianga on 3-4 September. Download the PDF here: nzrallychamps.co.nz/event/rnd5-rally-new-zealand-whitianga/ See you soon! #RallyNZ #NZRC #dayleitm Farmer Autovillage


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.