Long standing volunteers recognised for massive contribution

A number of long-serving Rally New Zealand volunteers were recognised at function in Auckland last week.

Service pins were handed out to 16 different people who have each had a massive contribution to the sport over the last 40 years.

Richard Gamble, Chris Grant, John Holland, Brian Littlewood, Stu Macaskill, Willard Martin, Murray O’Donnell and Bryce Platt all received a special 40-year service badge for their four-decade long contribution to the sport.

Former chairman of Rally New Zealand Morrie Chandler was finally presented with his 40-yeard service badge, which he had actually earned two years ago.

Steve Foster and Gary Maitland each were recognised for their 15-year service to the sport and were presented with sapphire service pins.

Simon Bell, Pania Moulton, Blair Read, Ross Twyman and Sheree Shelton were presented with ruby service pins for their five-year service to the sport.

The success of the sport would not be possible without the countless hours of hard work these people have given each year – some for 40 years now.

The 2018 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, Hella New Zealand, Hyundai New Zealand and Stadium Finance


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill