More 2018 champions crowned

Eugene Creugnet in action at Rally Coromandel. Photo / Geoff Ridder

Hayden Paddon might have wrapped up the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship yesterday but he wasn’t the only one celebrating securing a national title.

Paddon won the Hyundai New Zealand Goldrush Rally of Coromandel to claim his fourth NZRC title and first since 2013 on Saturday.

Dylan Thomson won both the category two 2WD championship as well as the overall 2WD championship for the second straight year. He also secured the Junior Champion trophy and Rising Stars 2WD titles as well.

His co-driver Amy Hudson took out the titles as overall 2WD co-driver champion and category 2 2WD co-driver champion.

New Caledonia’s Eugene Creugnet won the rookie away with a round to spare while Wayne Pittams took out the category 3 Open 2WD class.

Samantha Gray was the category 4 historic 2WD co-driver champion while Matt Adams won the Stadium Finance Group A Challenge in his Mo Bros entry.

The remaining championships will be decided at the final round of the 2018 series at the Hyundai NZ Raglan Rally of the Coast in October.

The 2018 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, Hella New Zealand, Hyundai New Zealand and Stadium Finance


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

12 hours 7 minutes ago

#Entries - In our latest Junior Driver catch up, Blair Bartels and Brian Young catch up with Suzuki driver Jordan Grant, to hear how he built the car from a wreck and his plans for 2021 NZRC. #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

22 hours 20 minutes ago

Bad news for Raana Horan and disappointing we won't see him at Otago this week. Read more: #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC 📷 Geoff Ridder

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 17 hours ago

#livestreaming After 18 months away, it's nearly time to kick the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship back into gear!! That means the Livestream is back and ready to go for the Winmax Otago Rally. BB & Dazza G will be out to catch the action and catch

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 12 hours ago

#Entries - In our latest Junior Driver catch up, Brian Young catches up with Bryn Jones and finds out all about the secret to success in Otago.... #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.