New challengers to best looking car in 2019

Raana Horan in action during Rally South Canterbury. Photo / Geoff Ridder

The Audi of Dylan Turner, Bryn Smith’s EVO and Ranna Horan’s Skoda R5 have been chosen as the best looking cars in the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship.

The three choices could not be separated with the trio each gaining 19% of votes in the recently-conducted Competitor’s Survey.

Turner’s Audi AP4 was the winner in last year’s poll but the new designs from the 50ONE50 Mitsubishi of Smith and the Big Black Racing Skoda Fabia of Horan proved popular among their peers.

Championship leader Ben Hunt’s Subaru was the next most popular choice – gaining 11% of the votes while others to feature were Andrew Hawkeswood’s yellow Mazda AP4, Dylan Thomson’s green Subaru and the beautifully-presented Subaru Legacy of Tony Gosling.

Hunt’s Subaru was voted the most competitive car in the field. The older-shaped car grabbed 33% of total votes with the Skoda R5 (driven by Raana Horan and Kingsley Jones) second on 16%.

The Audi and Dylan Turner and Hyundai driven by last year’s champion Hayden Paddon each collected 10% of votes while the Holden Barina was next on 7%.

Marcus van Klink’s Mazda RX8 was clearly preferred as the best sounding car in the NZRC after it polled a whopping 49% of the vote. Turner’s Audi AP4 and the BDA Escorts were second most popular – each attracting 11% of the vote.

The Job Quantock Skoda AP4 and the R5 Skoda each received 5% support.

The 2019 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, HELLA New Zealand, Stadium Finance, Omega Rental Cars and Suzuki New Zealand.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill