New season, new livery for many competitors

Marcus van Klink is one of a number of competitors that will be sporting a brand-new livery at this week’s Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship season opener in Otago.

Van Klink’s Mazda RX8 will sport a radical new white and bright green paint scheme for the 2021 championship, making one of the most popular cars easier to identify.

Jack Hawkeswood’s Mazda 2 AP4 car will also sport a completely new livery this season and will be unveiled in Dunedin on Thursday night.

Championship favourite Hayden Paddon’s Hyundai NZ i20 will feature a mainly green and black design this season while Dylan Turner’s LJ Hooker Audi will have a new livery too.

Championship runner-up from 2019 Josh Marston’s RDL Holden Barina will have a new look this season as will Phil Campbell’s Roofing Store Ford Fiesta while Ben Hunt’s Hydraulink Subaru and Emma Gilmour’s Vantage Suzuki have already displayed different liveries in 2021.

In the 2WD category Dylan Thomson and Bryn Jones will have new liveries on their cars not previously seen in the championship while Simon Bell’s Subaru Legacy will sport a stunning Camel-inspired design.

Fans will get a first glimpse of cars in the flesh at the ceremonial opening to Winmax Otago Rally at the Octagon in downtown Dunedin on Friday night.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill