NZRC 2WD championship mid-season update

The NZRC 2WD championship is one of the most hotly contested within the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship with a stack of up-and-coming stars and one wily veteran squaring off.

With two leading competitors in defending champ Dylan Thomson and Bryn Jones getting new cars for round two, pressure was on Jackson Clendon to take advantage of his better machinery at Otago.

Clendon delivered, completing a strong performance across the rally to secure maximum points off the bat.

Jones managed to take one extra point than Thomson in what would be the final event for both drivers in their older model cars.

Tim Mackersy did well to pick up 25 points while Jordan Grant, a likely contender, missed out with a drama-filled weekend.

Veteran Charlie Evans was hamstrung by weather and was unable to get his car over the Cook Strait Ferry in time to make the start.

With the new cars arriving in time for Whangarei a close battle was expected, and Jones laid down the challenge with a stage one win.

But Clendon and Thomson battled hard all weekend, Thomson coming out on top with a round win. Clendon was second while Jones and Grant each claimed 27 valuable points from Whangarei.

The battle between Thomson and Clendon ended early at South Canterbury’s Round 3, when Clendon had a mechanical failure on the opening stage.

Thomson cruised to a solid win to take control of the championship while behind him, Evans edged Grant for second.

Thomson has a 23-point lead over Clendon heading into the final two rounds of the year while Jones is a further two points back in third. Mackersy’s consistency has him in fourth place, but he will need some help to feature in the fight for the title.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill