Stunning result for Jensen a sign of things to come?

Lost in all the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship title fights at last weekend’s Rally Waitomo was the phenomenal performance of Matt Jensen.

The Aucklander won the Gull Rally Challenge at Waitomo in convincing fashion but unfortunately for Jensen, much of the focus was centred on the two cars behind him – Matt Adams and Ben Thomasen, who were battling each other for the championship.

While that pair fought out a nail-biting 0.3s fight Jensen piloted his Mitsubishi EVO 9 to four stage wins out of a possible six and cruised to a class win by nearly 30 seconds while finishing third overall.

“We have had an absolute great day,” a delighted Jensen said. “The NZKW EVO 9 was just on form. Kieran [co-driver Kieran Anstis] and I have been working well together.

“It is probably our best ever result to win the class and third overall in NZRC.

“It is a really fantastic result for the team and sponsors – we are a small team on a limited budget so it is an awesome result.”

Jensen has been in and out of the championship over the past couple of years, impressing at times and showing good speed without really putting a whole event together.

He drove well at Coromandel in August and a maiden podium finish to finish the campaign has underlined his real potential and shown a more methodical approach is paying off.

Jensen would love to do the full championship in 2020 but is still unsure whether it will happen or not.

“It is on my bucket list to do a full year – it is just money,” he said.

If he can get the budget together, Jensen may take some beating next season.

The 2019 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, HELLA New Zealand, Stadium Finance, Omega Rental Cars and Suzuki New Zealand.


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

11 hours 10 minutes ago

#Entries - In our latest Junior Driver catch up, Blair Bartels and Brian Young catch up with Suzuki driver Jordan Grant, to hear how he built the car from a wreck and his plans for 2021 NZRC. #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

21 hours 22 minutes ago

Bad news for Raana Horan and disappointing we won't see him at Otago this week. Read more: #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC 📷 Geoff Ridder

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 16 hours ago

#livestreaming After 18 months away, it's nearly time to kick the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship back into gear!! That means the Livestream is back and ready to go for the Winmax Otago Rally. BB & Dazza G will be out to catch the action and catch

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 11 hours ago

#Entries - In our latest Junior Driver catch up, Brian Young catches up with Bryn Jones and finds out all about the secret to success in Otago.... #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.