Summerfield aims for the podium at series finale


Photo: Euan Cameron

Rangiora’s Matt Summerfield is aiming to stand on the podium again at the final round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship driven by VINZ, the GoPro Daybreaker Rally.

Along with co-driving sister Nicole, Summerfield started the season off by taking the runner up spot at the opening round, Rally Whangarei and the pair are keen to return to that form to finish off the season.

Since the last NZRC round, Summerfield won the non-championship Royce Watson Memorial Rally based around Hanmer Springs so carries good form into the Manawatu-based Daybreaker.

There is plenty to play for in the event with Summerfield one of six drivers fighting for second and third spots in the championship. A desired podium finish would be the perfect way to move Summerfield up from his current fourth place.

The format sees the event return to its roots with the first car starting at 3.50am, before tackling 11 special stages as far north as Taihape before returning to the finish a little over 12 hours later. This has seen Summerfield taking on a unique form of event preparation.

“I’ve been getting up 15 minutes earlier every day for the past couple of weeks, it’s tough but it will be worth it. I can’t wait for a sleep in after the event,” says the 22-year old. “We’d really like to get on the podium for the final event of the year, it will give us a lot of confidence going into the off season.”

Matt Summerfield Rallisport would like to acknowledge their sponsors, without whom their 2014 campaign would not be possible: Castrol Edge, Autotech Services, NAC Insurance, North Canterbury Energy Centre, The Gearbox Company, Chatterton Builders, Gull Fuels, Liquorland, Ashby Engineering, I C Frith Insurance Brokers and No Limit Construction.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill