Summerfield victorious in Whangarei

Matt & Nicole Summerfield | 1st Overall NZRC | img Geoff Ridder

Rangiora’s Matt Summerfield has fired himself back into championship contention with a strong victory at round two of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship fuelled by Gull and driven by Dunlop, the International Rally of Whangarei. Summerfield and co-driving sister Nicole (Subaru Impreza) led home Dylan Turner/Malcolm Read (Audi S1 AP4) by 1 minute 6.4 seconds over the event, with Darren Galbraith/Rocky Hudson (Mitsubishi Evo 8) third.

Not everything went to plan for the Summerfield team, with an exhaust manifold requiring replacement in this morning’s 15 minute service. The job took the team 20 minutes, which saw them drop out of the lead with a 50 second penalty. That saw Turner take the lead on what was a debut for his new car, however a charge from Summerfield saw him regain the lead on special stage 12, the day’s second. While Turner continued to push Summerfield, third placed Galbraith was running conservatively with a blown head gasket.

Dylan Turner & Malcolm Read | 2nd Overall NZRC | img Geoff Ridder

Rhys Gardner/Phil Hall (Mazda 2) were able to maintain their fourth place across the day, holding off a fast finishing Graham Featherstone/Dave Devenport (Mitsubishi Evo 7), Job Quantock/Matt Hayward (Mitsubishi Evo 7), Dave Strong/Bruce McKenzie (Ford Fiesta S2000), Tony Gosling/Blair Read (Ford Escort RS1800), Dylan Thomson/Amy Hudson and Max Tregilgas/Glenn Goldring (Both Ford Fiestas). Also charging hard on the final day was Andrew Hawkeswood/Jeff Cress (Mazda 2 AP4+), who picked up bonus points for fastest on day two.

Dylan Thomson & Amy Hudson | 1st NZRC 2WD | img Geoff Ridder

The NZRC two-wheel drive class saw a last minute come back from Dylan Thomson to overhaul Max Tregilgas, while overnight third place holders Robbie and Amy Stokes retired with suspension damage. Jack Williamson proved reliability over outright pace was the correct strategy in the open-two wheel drive class, taking victory as the only finisher.

Tony Gosling & Blair Read | 1st NZRC Classic 2WD | img Geoff Ridder

The Historic class went in favour of Tony Gosling, who also received the prestigious Motogard Trophy (awarded to winners of Rally New Zealand between 1978-1982), ahead of John Silcock/Richard Atkinson (Mazda RX-7) and Paul Fraser/Chris Davison (Ford Escort RS1800).

By virtue of two consistent results, Graham Featherstone has taken a slender two point lead over Summerfield, with Turner, Gardner, David Holder and Hawkeswood all within 11 points as the series heads to Lone Star Rally Canterbury on 3-4 June.

Matt Summerfield/Nicole Summerfield 2:42:00.3
Dylan Turner/Malcolm Read +1:06.4
Darren Galbraith/Rocky Hudson +2:06.4
Rhys Gardner/Phil Hall +5:47.9
Graham Featherstone/Dave Devenport +7:02.1

Featherstone 51
Summerfield 49
Turner 47
Gardner 46
Holder 41

Photo credit Geoff Ridder/Kate Ridder (check file name please)

For further information please contact:


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 15 hours ago

Rally Hawke's Bay returns to the NZRC after 10 years. Stunning roads. Enjoy all the action from the 4WD class highlights. Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt Matt Summerfield Rally James Dunlop MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 21 hours ago

Dropping tonight at 5! Catch the 4WD Rally Hawke's Bay Highlights here on Facebook or on our YouTube channel - NZRC.TV Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental Cars Ltd

New Zealand Rally Championship

2 days 12 hours ago

#ThursdayNightRecce - This week, BB & Budgie check out the weekend's action amongst the Category 1 competitors, with lots of battles amongst the finishers there were plenty of talking points #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 16 hours ago

RALLY MAP // Here it is - the 2021 Dayle ITM Goldrush Rally of Coromandel Map! We are super excited to be back this year in Whitianga on 3-4 September. Download the PDF here: See you soon! #RallyNZ #NZRC #dayleitm Farmer Autovillage


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.