SVG confirmed for four rounds of NZRC in 2023

Three-time Supercars champion Shane van Gisbergen has confirmed he will compete in four rounds of the 2023 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship.

The Red Bull Ampol Racing star has already turned heads with his brief foray into rallying – winning the Battle of Jack’s Ridge in late 2020 before a brilliant podium finish in the WRC2 class of Rally New Zealand last year.

While chasing a fourth Supercars title and third in succession remains his major focus, Van Gisbergen has expanded his rallying ventures into four rounds of the national championship – starting with International Rally of Whangarei in May.

He will miss round 3 in South Canterbury but will contest the three final rounds of the championship at Bay of Plenty and two yet-to-be-confirmed locations.

Van Gisbergen will pilot the LJ Hooker and Giltrap Group backed Audi AP4 car owned by Dylan Turner.

“A massive thanks to Dylan – he planned on having an easier year this year so to let us share his car for a few rounds is pretty exciting,” Van Gisbergen said.

“Getting to work with him and also Choice Performance Ralliart team again, who I worked with before at Jack’s Ridge, will be awesome.

“The car looks really cool – I am looking forward to it.

“We have some great supporters this year – the main ones being Giltrap Group, LJ Hooker, United Truck Parts, Ward Demolition, Ellerslie Jewellers, Pirelli and then Baron Leather Goods supporting as well – they supported Dad when he was rallying his Escort and so to be on my rally car this year is amazing.

“Looking forward to seeing how Dylan goes this weekend at Otago  – I will be watching the timing as much as I can in Melbourne.

“I look forward to getting back together with Glen [co-driver Glen Weston] and keeping on learning and getting better.”

Turner will run the car at Otago this weekend in the season-opening event and will also compete at South Canterbury in June, while Van Gisbergen is racing Supercars.

The Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property, HELLA New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand and Omega Rental Cars.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill