Three R5s to run at Raglan

A total of three R5 cars will take part in next week’s Hyundai New Zealand Raglan Rally of the Coast – the first time more than one has competed at a domestic round.

Raana Horan debuted his Skoda Fabia R5 at the previous round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship on the Coromandel but he will be joined on the famous gravel roads around Raglan by Neil Allport’s Ford Fiesta R5 and another Skoda Fabia R5 driven by Kingsley Jones.

Allport purchased his Fiesta over a year ago and it has been run three times in the NZRC – twice last year under the power of Max Bayley while Aussie champ Nathan Quinn ran it in Whangarei this year. Allport will drive the car himself next weekend.

Jones has bought Horan’s sister car and is hoping it will arrive in the country in time to compete at Raglan.

All three cars are expected to contest the full championship next season.

Defending NZRC champion Andrew Hawkeswood is back for just his second rally of the season in his Mazda 2 and he will be joined by Australian driver Brendan Reeves in a dual attack by the Force Motorsport Team.

WRC star Hayden Paddon, who is in action at Wales Rally GB this weekend, will return to New Zealand in time to compete. The Hyundai driver secured the championship with his victory on the Coromandel in August.

All the usual suspects will line-up – Ben Hunt, Dylan Turner, Matt Summerfield, Josh Marston, Emma Gilmour, Phil Campbell and Greg Murphy.

Quinn has also entered the event in the hopes of securing a podium finish in the championship though he has yet to secure a car.

In all 74 cars have entered the event and will tackle the famous Whaanga Coast and Te Hutewai stages south of Raglan as well as two stages in the Te Akau region next Saturday.

The 2018 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, Hella New Zealand, Hyundai New Zealand and Stadium Finance


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 16 hours ago

Rally Hawke's Bay returns to the NZRC after 10 years. Stunning roads. Enjoy all the action from the 4WD class highlights. Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt Matt Summerfield Rally James Dunlop MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 22 hours ago

Dropping tonight at 5! Catch the 4WD Rally Hawke's Bay Highlights here on Facebook or on our YouTube channel - NZRC.TV Hayden Paddon Stokes MotorSport Team Ralliart New Zealand Ari Pettigrew Ben Hunt MotorSport New Zealand HELLA Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand Omega Rental Cars Ltd

New Zealand Rally Championship

2 days 13 hours ago

#ThursdayNightRecce - This week, BB & Budgie check out the weekend's action amongst the Category 1 competitors, with lots of battles amongst the finishers there were plenty of talking points #NZRC #Rockstars #BrianGreenPropertyGroup #DrivenByDunlop #Dunlop #Hella #SafetyDayLights #HellaMoments #OmegaRentalCars #UpFrontAndHonest #Rally #WRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 17 hours ago

RALLY MAP // Here it is - the 2021 Dayle ITM Goldrush Rally of Coromandel Map! We are super excited to be back this year in Whitianga on 3-4 September. Download the PDF here: See you soon! #RallyNZ #NZRC #dayleitm Farmer Autovillage


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.