Title number three the goal for Van Klink


Reigning NZRC Classic Champions Marcus Van Klink and Dave Neill. Photo: Euan Cameron.

Kaiapoi’s Marcus van Klink heads to the opening round of the 2015 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship, Rally Whangarei, looking for the perfect start to the championship. The 2014 season saw van Klink take his second NZRC Historic title and his aim for the 2015 season is to add a third to his CV in the Chesters Plumbing Mazda RX-7 Group B Replica.

Once again guided by co-driver Dave Neill, van Klink returns to the Whangarei event looking to repeat last year’s result where he not only won the Historic class but came home a very creditable seventh overall.

The Chesters RX-7 is currently completing final preparations before heading north for the championship opener, with only minor refinements done to increase speed. With a competitive field for 2015, van Klink is particularly looking forward to the battle with two-time outright national champion Brian Stokes.

“I’m really looking forward to getting back into and defending our title this year, we’re expecting some good competition and it should be a great year,” says van Klink. “Whangarei has given us a bit of a mixed bag in the past, but last year we had a great run and I’d really like to do the same again this year.”

Rally Whangarei gets underway with two super special stages on Friday April 17. The serious action begins the following day with eight high-speed special stages north of the host town, while Sunday sees a further six special stages before the finish at the Whangarei town basin.

Klink Rallysport would like to acknowledge the continued support from their sponsors, Chesters Plumbing Supplies, Universal Plumbing, Castrol Edge, Buteline Plumbing Systems, AMT Mechanical Services, Palmside and Al Marsh Rotorsport.


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill