Top field for 2014 Rally of Otago


A large field will assemble in Dunedin’s Octagon for round 2 of the championship. Photo: Euan Cameron

An impressive field of 88 competitors will line up for next month’s International Rally of Otago, with some of the rallying’s biggest names taking part, including 1994 World Champion, Didier Auriol, from France.

The 44-car field for round two of the Brian Green Property Group New  Zealand Rally Championship component of the event is headed by multiple  champions Richard and Sara Mason in a Subaru Impreza WRX, followed by  the similar cars of Matt Summerfield and Lance Williams. The leading Mitsubishi Lancer runner is Graham Featherstone, followed by former champion Chris West.

New Zealand’s fastest female rally driver, Dunedin’s own Emma Gilmour, has  entered her Suzuki Swift Maxi 1600, while a surprise entry from Andrew  Hawkeswood in a Mazda2 4WD Maxi will create plenty of interest. David Holder, who led round one of the series in an ex-Hayden Paddon Mitsubishi, will be another to watch. The NZRC field also includes competitors in the Allcomers rally, with the  Mitsubishi of Carter Strang leading a strong field that includes the  Impreza WRX of Christchurch’s Jeff Judd.

There are also 44 cars  entered in the Stadium Cars / Ssangyong Classic Rally of Otago, with all eyes on France’s Didier Auriol in a Ford Escort RS1800. On his  first visit to the Otago Rally, Auriol will face tough competition from  current Hyundai World Rally Team driver, Hayden Paddon, also in an  Escort, and last year’s rally winner, Australian Neal Bates in a Toyota  Celica. Seven Australians will start the Classic Rally as the  event continues to attract huge interest from across the Tasman and around the world.

The rally will start from Dunedin’s Octagon on Friday evening, May 9. After two days of intense competition, the  historic Dunedin Railway Station will host the finish celebrations on  Sunday afternoon. Before then, however, competitors will tackle  15 competitive stages to the south of Dunedin, with 280 kilometres of  competitive driving over the two days.

Full entry list available here:


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill