Two new teams to challenge for NZRC title

Kingsley Jones debuted his Skoda R5 at Raglan. Photo / Geoff Ridder

A couple of new major players in the teams’ championship are among the first confirmed entries for the 2019 Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship.

The Skoda R5 Team will see Raana Horan and Kingsley Jones combine forces to tackle the best two-car teams in the country and will start the season as one of the favourites to take out the teams’ championship.

Both drivers debuted their impressive Skoda Fabia R5s during 2018 and will be expected to take big strides forward this year as they get more familiar with one of the best rally cars on the planet.

They join the Team LJ Hooker entry that sees Dylan Turner and Dylan Thomson team up in another new outfit that should find themselves at the pointy end of the standings. Turner will pilot his Audi AP4 while Thomson makes the step up to open 4WD this year in a Subaru he will share with co-driver Amy Hudson.

The teams’ championship was closely fought last season with the Tortoise and Hare Team of Hayden Paddon and Jack Williamson taking honours at the final event on the calendar – the Raglan Rally of the Coast.

Entries are now open with the first round starting in early April in Otago.

The 2019 New Zealand Rally Championship is proudly supported by Brian Green Property Group, Gull New Zealand, Dunlop New Zealand, Hella New Zealand, and Stadium Finance


About The Author


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2024, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Invercargill