Victory for Hunt at Waitomo lines up three-way title fight!

Ben Hunt / Tony Rawstorn [img Geoff Ridder]

The race for the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship driven by Dunlop and fuelled by Gull has taken another twist, with Ben Hunt’s victory at the Handy Rentals Hamilton Rally Waitomo moving him right into contention for the title at the series finale in six weeks time.

Hunt and co-driver Tony Rawstorn took a commanding lead after winning stage three and never looked back in their Subaru WRX STi, reaching the finish 22 seconds ahead of Sloan Cox and Sarah Coatsworth’s (Rotorua) Mitsubishi Evo 10, while Hawke’s Bay driver Max Bayley and Lisa Hudson took third place in their debut in the four-wheel drive class driving a Ford Fiesta R5.

Stage one was won by championship leaders Andrew Hawkeswood and Jeff Cress (Mazda 2 AP4+) despite a puncture late in the stage, but a second puncture and an overheating engine meant the Mazda would come home in fourth place, with the fastest time on the final stage pushing them past Emma Gilmour/Anthony McLoughlin’s Suzuki Swift AP4 by just 3.2 seconds.

The Top ten was rounded out by defending national champions David Holder/Jason Farmer, having their first run in Greg Murphy’s Holden Barina AP4+, Matt & Nicole Summerfield (Subaru Impreza), Graham Featherstone/Dave Devenport (Mitsubishi Evo 7), Josh Marston/Andrew Graves (Holden Barina AP4+) and Gull Rally Challenge winners Quentin Palmer/Daniel Bassett.

Quentin Palmer/Daniel Bassett [img Geoff Ridder]

The NZRC Two-wheel drive class for front-wheel drive cars up to two-litre saw Dylan Thomson and Amy Hudson take a commanding victory in their Ford Fiesta over the similar car of Max Tregilgas and Glenn Goldring, who suffered an overheating engine all day. By virtue of the victory, Thomson receives a free entry and twelve Dunlop tyres for the final round, Rally New Zealand.

The Open Two-wheel drive class saw Marcus van Klink/Dave Neill in their Mazda RX8 take the class victory after rivals and championship leaders Anthony Jones/Tanya Gwynne (Ford Escort) suffered a heavy rollover, but were thankfully okay. Second place went to Brent Taylor/Chris Ramsay (Toyota FT86) with third place going to Wayne Pittmas/Noel Moloney’s Ford Escort.

The Historic class saw Tony Gosling/Blair Read continue their domination in their Ford Escort RS1800, leading home the Mazda RX-3 of Paul Fraser/Chris Davison.

The Gull Rally Challenge four-wheel drive class went the way of Quentin Palmer/Dan Bassett, leading home Richard Bateman/Sharisse Guckert and Jono Walker/Jeremy Dawson in a Mitsubishi Evo podium lock-out, while the two-wheel drive class was won by David Taylor/Pania Huntley in their Honda Civic, leading home the Toyota Starlet of Daniel Alexander/Richard Burnett.

The final round of the Group A challenge went the way of Matt & Karl Adams’ Mitsubishi VR-4, heading home Simon Bell/Warwick Martin in their Subaru Legacy and the Audi Quattro of Phil Collins/Tracy Spark. Victory for the Adams Brothers was enough to win the title for the second consecutive year, ahead of Ben Brown/Tania Cresswell (Mitsubishi Evo 1) and the Collins/Spark Audi.

Hawkeswood’s fourth place sees him extend his championship lead to 10 points over Hunt, Summerfield just a point further back, heading to the final round, Rally New Zealand based from Tauranga on November 24-26, where teams can score a possible 44 points.


  1. Hunt/Rawstorn 2:12:50.7
  2. Cox/Coatsworth +22.0
  3. Bayley/Hudson +43.3
  4. Hawkeswood/Cress +1:18.1
  5. Gilmour/McLoughlin +1:21.3


  1. Hawkeswood 109
  2. Hunt 99
  3. Summerfield 98
  4. Holder 75
  5. Cox 68


  1. Subaru 116
  2. Mazda 105
  3. Ford 93
  4. Mitsubishi 82
  5. Suzuki 71
  6. Hyundai 43
  7. Holden 39
  8. Toyota 3
  9. Audi 22

For further information please contact:


About The Author

Event & Series Updates


New Zealand Rally Championship

12 hours 48 minutes ago

We move into the top 10 best stages in NZ rallying today. Rounding out that top 10 is a classic Otago stage, rated by Ken Block as the best he's ever done. 📷 Geoff Ridder Thanks to sponsors Brian Green Property Group, HELLA, Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand

New Zealand Rally Championship

1 day 12 hours ago

Two of the best spectating stages in the country, a "hidden gem" ranked number one by one of our experts, Southland's most famous stage and a highlight of Wairarapa rallies feature in places 11-16. 📷 Geoff Ridder Thanks to sponsors Brian Green Property Group, HELLA, Dunlop Tyres Australia &

New Zealand Rally Championship

2 days 10 hours ago

A couple of iconic forestry stages appear in stages ranked 16-20 in our countdown. 📷 Geoff Ridder Thanks to sponsors Brian Green Property Group, HELLA, Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand and Omega Rental Cars Ltd #NZRC

New Zealand Rally Championship

3 days 12 hours ago

We start the countdown of the top 25 stages in New Zealand rallying with selections 21-25. Which stages did our judges include? 📷 Geoff Ridder Thanks to sponsors Brian Green Property Group, HELLA, Dunlop Tyres Australia & New Zealand and Omega Rental Cars Ltd #NZRC


The New Zealand Rally Championship is this country’s premier nationwide rally championship. It attracts New Zealand’s best drivers to compete in numerous categories for the prestigious MotorSport New Zealand-sanctioned rally championship titles. In 2019, there are six NZRC rounds, each with a unique character reflecting the diverse regions – from Northland to Otago.